Hack Showcase: Beatles Adventures in Pepperland (NES)

 

Hack Showcases and RPG Hack Showcases are a series where I show off various game and rpg hacks. I try to stick with hacks that improve gameplay or add quality of life features, completely or partially change the plot and characters, along with additional content, dialogue, graphical and sound improvements. Non-rpgs I try to give a full run to, or at least enough for a solid review. Rpgs I will stick with titles that have enough changes in the beginning to show off, and when I can, show parts later in the games where more differences appear. There may be spoilers in the reviews and videos. Some of these I may stream fully in the future or play on my own. Reviews are open to later revisions due to bug and content updates or me playing them and finding anything new I wish to bring up.

Created by Nesdraug and Shauing, this is a complete overhaul hack of SMB2. Adventures in Pepperland and loosely based on the Beatles Yellow Submarine film and follows the plot as the Beatles venture from Liverpool to Pepperland to save the people from the Blue Meanies and bring back color and music there.

The Fab Four replace the cast of SMB2 with George as Mario, Paul as Luigi (with no shoes), Ringo as Toad, and John as Peach. The music is all 8-bit renditions from the Yellow Submarine album and you’ll find yourself humming along as you play, especially if you’re a Beatles fan. Game does have a streaming warning that the soundtrack could cause copyright claims on Youtube/Twitch and offers a simple fix for this issue.

SO HOW IS IT? This hack is really well done and makes me glad I got into playing game hacks! Graphics are quite trippy too, and this is someone who wasn’t around in the 60’s or seen Yellow Submarine.  Every level, boss, enemy is changed in this along with the Beatles replacing the SMB2 cast. The Fab Four retains the skills of their SMB2 counterparts: George is well-rounded, Paul can do the floaty high jump, Ringo is fast, and John can float like Peach. All the enemies were changed too to reflect things in the movie, but retain their same movesets as their counterparts. All items were changed in this also, may take a little while to figure what they are. Once you do, you’ll be a star.

The music in this hack is another huge plus being 8-bit renditions of famous Beatles tracks from Yellow Submarine. You’ll be whistling along to “Yellow Submarine” and more as you play! Just don’t get distracted while enjoying the music!

All of the new levels are quite colorful and full of life. Starting in Liverpool, England, the city looks gray and drab till you find your way to the Yellow Submarine. The trip to and Pepperland itself is a kaleidoscope of color and you’ll feel like you got off a bad trip. The Blue mountain levels are all different shades of blue also. Your platforming skills will be put to the test in many areas and anything you know from SMB2 comes into play here: throwing enemies or projectiles to defeat other enemies, walking on enemies to get over spikes, jumping or gliding over gaps and more.

The game is a great challenge, and there’s spots where you’ll want to perform an action to get a result as in SMB2 that won’t happen, so you’ll have to figure out what the game wants you to do. Big example is taking a warp pipe at the end of one of the early levels. There’s some spots that can be kaizo-ish in difficulty in the later levels that may take you multiple tries to figure out what the game wants, or facetanking through if you have enough hit points.

I highly recommend this hack, even if you’re not a fan of the Beatles. It’s extremely well done and feels like a totally different game save for the Fab Four’s moveset. After you defeat the Blue Meanie stick around for the ending credits!

GAMEPLAY VIDEO:

I GIVE BEATLES ADVENTURES IN PEPPERLAND 4.5 OUT OF BLUE MEANIES!!

LINKS:
https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/6311/ – RHDN Link

 

If you enjoy reading any of my content and hearing of my nerdy adventures, feel free to share my posts on social media or leave me a comment. I would be forever grateful if you supported me via my Cash App or buy me a coffee via Ko-Fi. All donations are very welcomed and appreciated. I earn no income from this blog and this will help me continue in providing content and fulfilling my dreams. Thanks!